ment of Public Printing and Stationery (see p. 86), the Public Archives (see p. 86), and the Chief Electoral Office are under the jurisdiction of the Secretary of State, but the Chairman of the Civil Service Commission, the Queen's Printer, the Public Archivist and the Chief Electoral Officer each have the rank of a Deputy Minister.

The Department of the Secretary of State deals with correspondence concerning the Copyright Appeal Board, the Awards Co-ordination Committee, the Public Records Committee and the Inter-departmental Committee on the use of Parliament Hill.

Department of Trade and Commerce.—The Department of Trade and Commerce although authorized by Act of Parliament on June 23, 1887, did not come into operation until Dec. 5, 1892, by Order in Council. Prior to its creation assistance in the development of foreign trade was provided through the appointment of five Canadian Commercial Agents, serving on a part-time basis and responsible to the Minister of Finance. On Jan. 1, 1895, a Canadian Commercial Agent was appointed at Sydney, Australia, on a salary basis, and therefore became the first Canadian Government Trade Commissioner, in the present meaning of the term.

The Canadian Commercial Agency Service was renamed the Canadian Trade Commissioner Service in 1907. Fifty-one offices were maintained in 41 countries at the beginning of 1952, the majority of which were operated jointly by the Departments of Trade and Commerce and of External Affairs. In such instances, trade commissioners are given diplomatic status and are known as Commercial Counsellors or Commercial Secretaries.

The Department of Trade and Commerce was expanded in 1945 to provide a wide range of additional services to Canadian businessmen, and now comprises the following branches and divisions: Canadian Trade Commissioner Service; Commodities Branch, consisting of an Export Division, Import Division, Export and Import Permit Division and a Transportation and Communications Division; Agricultural Commodities Branch; Standards Branch; Capital Cost Allowance Division; Economics Division; Industrial Development Division; and the International Economic and Technical Co-operation Division; Canadian Government Exhibition Commission. The functions of these branches and divisions are set forth in Chapter XXI.

The following boards, bureaus, commissions and corporations are also responsible to the Minister of Trade and Commerce: National Research Council; Board of Grain Commissioners; Canadian Wheat Board; Dominion Bureau of Statistics; Export Credits Insurance Corporation; Trans-Canada Air Lines. Consult the Index for reference to these agencies.

The Department of Transport.—The Department of Transport was created on Nov. 2, 1936, from the former Departments of Marine, Railways and Canals and the Civil Aviation Branch of National Defence.

The work of the Department consists of four main services: marine, air, canals and railways. The work of the Marine Service includes aids to navigation, nautical services, marine agencies, steamship inspection and floating equipment and direct supervision over 300 public harbours; seven other harbours come under supervision of the Department but are administered by Commissions. Air Services cover the operation of civil aviation, meteorological and telecommunication divisions. The latter includes the administration and regulation of radio marine and radio aeronautical aids to navigation and communication by wire and by the Government telegraph and telephone. Canal Services has jurisdiction over the canals and canalized waterways of Canada. These include the main or primary canals on the St. Lawrence River and Great Lakes and a number of subsidiary or secondary canals.

Other services of the Department are in connection with the Government-owned companies: the Canadian National Railways, Hudson Bay Railway, Canadian Government Railway, Canadian National (West Indies) Steamship Service, the Prince Edward Island Ferry and Terminals, Trans-Canada Air Lines, and the Trans-Canada (Atlantic) Air Lines. See also Chapter XIX.

The Minister of Transport is responsible to Parliament for the following boards and commissions: the Air Transport Board; Board of Transport Commissioners; Canadian Maritime Commission; Steamship Inspection Board; and the National Harbours Board. The Minister is also responsible to Parliament for the Canadian Overseas Telecommunication Corporation, a Crown company created by Act of Parliament to operate all external telecommunication assets in Canada. For reference to these boards and commissions consult the Index.

Department of Veterans Affairs.—This Department, established in 1944, is concerned exclusively with the welfare of veterans and includes medical, dental and welfare services, land settlement and prosthetic services and insurance. The Veterans' Bureau assists veterans in the preparation and presentation of pension claims.

The Minister of Veterans Affairs is also responsible for the Canadian Pension Commission and the War Veterans' Allowance Board. The Department has administrative offices in all the larger cities. See also Chapter VI.